The buyer typically pays for any fees relating to their mortgage loan, and the seller typically pays the agent’s commission and various fees relating to the transfer of property. With that being said, closing costs are often just as negotiable as anything else in a real estate transaction.

 

California:

Both buyers and sellers are responsible for certain closing costs during the final stage of the home buying process called escrow. There are two stages of the escrow period: the beginning of escrow and closing of escrow.

Florida:

 All closing costs can be negotiated between buyers and sellers. Many real estate closing costs are typically covered by the seller.  Seller pay for title insurance in Florida, however, the buyer generally pays for title insurance and chooses the title company in Dade, Broward, Bollier and Sarasota.

There is no Florida law that requires one party or the other to pay closing costs in a residential real estate purchase.

Georgia:

In the State of Georgia, it is required that an attorney perform the closing process. The attorney’s role is to ensure that all documents are properly prepared and that title is clear. The average cost of closing is $500-$1,000 and is usually paid by the buyer.

Minnesota:

Both the seller and the buyer will be expected to pay closing costs. Seller closing costs typically add up to 1% to 3% of the sales price. Buyers typically add up to  3% to 4% in closing costs.

Illinois:

Overall, in a typical transaction, the seller can expect to pay around 3% of the sale price in total closing costs.

North Carolina:

The State of North Carolina charges an excise (transfer) tax on home sales to the seller of $2.00 per $1,000 of the sales price.

Rhode Island:

Typically the buyer is responsible for these costs but they can ask the seller to contribute to the cost of closing costs.

South Carolina:

There is no SC law that requires one party or the other to pay closing costs in a residential real estate purchase. Closing costs are negotiable which means that the seller and buyer are free to discuss and decide on who pays for what item.

Texas:

Typically, the seller will pay between 1% and 3% compared to buyers who pay between 3% and 4% of closing costs.


Read more:

How much is the average closing cost?