One of the reasons why a loan from an FHA (Federal Housing Administration) lender is the reasonable requirements.

As of 2017, those wanting to apply for an FHA loan must have a minimum FICO credit score of 500 to be considered for financing. A score of at least 580 qualifies you for a 3.5% minimum down payment. Those with FICO scores below 580 must pay a down payment of 10%. Based on your score and personal finances it’s best to weigh the advantages and disadvantages of a smaller versus larger down payment.

Luckily, there’s no income requirements associated with an FHA loan, so if you make a lot (or a little) this won’t prohibit your chances.

A debt to income ratio is expressed as a percentage, it’s calculated by dividing your current debts by gross monthly income. Lenders use this number to determine if you’re worthy of repaying debts. For an FHA mortgage, yours must be 50% or less.

The following is also required:

  • Proof of social security number
  • Proof of current financial status, such as pay stubs, W-2 forms, or tax returns
  • Two credit accounts, such as a car loan or a credit card
  • No previous debt with FHA mortgages
  • No delinquent federal debt, including tax-related debt
  • An account for cash or gifts to assist with your down payment (if you receive gifts, they should be officially verified)

Those looking to “flip” a property without intending to live on the premises are not qualified for an Federal Housing Administration mortgage. The title must be in your name, and you must occupy the house within 60 days of the closing date.  

Finally, the national loan limits of this mortgage change every year, and 2017 saw a significant increase. This is excellent news for new and seasoned homebuyers alike, who can enjoy a “ceiling” of $625,500 and a “floor” of $271,050.